Mazal tov! Our daughter got engaged!

the happy couple

The happy couple

We are delighted to announce that “daughter in PT” got engaged tonight to her lovely young man who hails from Dimona. Yeah, the town with the nuclear reactor. No, he doesn’t glow in the dark.  I asked. :-)

His family is of Moroccan origin, my family is of yekkish (German) stock, and my other half is from a Bobover Hassidic background. So it’s going to be an interesting wedding!  If I get a chance (and if I recover in time) I will update about the engagement party.

We’re not sure when the wedding is going to be. Some time after the chagim is the general estimate.

May we all continue to celebrate smachot (happy occasions)!

Le'chaim!

Le’chaim!

Mazal tov!

!מזל טוב

This entry was posted in Family, Slice of Israeli life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Mazal tov! Our daughter got engaged!

  1. Mazal tov! Best wishes to the happy couple!

  2. Linda says:

    Mazal Tov…wish you much naches from the happy couple.
    D

  3. Leslie Greenberg says:

    Mazal Tov! Wishing the happy couple and the entire family, nothing but smachot!

  4. anneinpt says:

    Many thanks to everyone for your good wishes. I wish the same nachas to all of Am Yisrael.

  5. realRightWinger says:

    Is Daughter in PT going to start a blog – Daughter in Dimona (DID) ?

  6. Congratulations to all, parents and children, daughter in PT and Dimona dude in particular, for this lovely occasion. May their lives be one where the road rises to meet them, and …

    May love and laughter light your days,
    and warm your heart and home.
    May good and faithful friends be yours,
    wherever you may roam.
    May peace and plenty bless your world
    with joy that long endures.
    May all life’s passing seasons
    bring the best to you and yours!

    • anneinpt says:

      Aww, Aridog, you’ve brought tears to my eyes with that beautiful poem, and the sentiments behind it. Thank you so much for your good wishes.

      PS: I think the Dimona Dude will be highly chuffed to learn of his new nic. I think it suits him perfectly. :-)

      • The short poem is simply a very old Irish Toast. It seemed appropriate for a young couple beginning a life together. It is such a glorious optimistic time that I always wish to be forever for all couples. Becasue it is israel, there is always a threat, so wishing it to be gone, even for a time, is a necessary salutation. I assumed most readers here already know most of the Hebrew and Yiddish toasts, so I dug out an old Celtic one that I am sure has many slightly different translations.

        Now as for “Mediterranean Ululation” … all I need to do is open a window to hear it, one of the neighborhood “penguins” (strict observant style of Shiite dress….just like old style Dominican Nuns of my youth) somewhere on the street will always find a reason to go all ULULULULU … ululululu……(pbbbbffft….makes my ears hurt). No need for an Apple iPhone app. If I let either Judi, or my darling daughter, know there is one they’ll no doubt down load it and use it for a ring tone.

        • anneinpt says:

          LOL! I can just imagine using the ululululu as a ring tone here. You’d get everyone joining in just in case there’s a celebration going on somewhere. :-D

  7. reality says:

    Mazal Tov -to one & all! She has a (semi) permanent place here to sleep whenever needed when DD(Dimona Dude ) is in town until the wedding. I’ll wash the sheets after the wedding!! Now all we have to do is diet!!(Sigh!!) lets start practicing”kulukulukulu!!! :) My younger daughter said “yay reason for shopping!”
    Mazal Tov to you all & to our parents too

    • anneinpt says:

      First we have to practice our belly-dancing. :-D

      Thanks for the mazal tov and for all the help, practical and emotional. You’ve kept me sane (more or less) so far.

    • cba says:

      There’s an iPhone app that will ululate for you if you’re not capable of doing so yourself–I don’t wish to stereotype all yekkes, but it’s not typically one of their core competencies, so you might want to check it out :)

  8. DavidinPT says:

    Yekkes can yodel, which is similar :)

    • anneinpt says:

      I think you’ve just managed to insult the Swiss and the entire Middle East in one small comment. :-)

      • I doubt anyone is insulted …. yodeling is a nearly world wide thing. Has been a major part of American Country & Western music since before I was born, and Still Is. That young lady is just a modern sample of the old cowboy meme. Yes, I am old enough to remember riding horseback across unfenced mountains, plains, and valleys of old central Colorado as a 13 year old. Western poets and singers all included yodeling in their repertoires … it symbolized, to me anyway, the wildness and freedom of the open range west, and the joy of just being in it, on a good horse, and grand time in my life. Funny how my days in competitive skiing also included yodeling music from time to time, just like the time with horses. Nothing beats either one. So hooray for Yekkes, the Swiss, and the Cowboys.

  9. reality says:

    You’ll start a 3rd world war comparing yodeling to ulaulating-or is it undulating( thats how my belly will bellydance:))

  10. Pingback: Engagement and Hinna Party | Anne's Opinions

Add your comment

