Pesach flowers in Jerusalem

We spent a few beautiful days in downtown Jerusalem, touring the sites, visiting relatives and generally mingling with the huge throngs all crowding into Jerusalem for Pesach. (More of that in my next post).

One of the tours we took was with our son and his family to the Jerusalem Botanical Gardens (the site is in Hebrew only), a veritable oasis of peace and serenity in the middle of the bustling city, and I wanted to share with you some of the lovely plants and flowers that we viewed there.

The gardens are laid out by “continent”, each area containing the plants that are native to that continent, with pretty paths winding from one region to another.

As you enter the gardens you are met with a serene “Swan Lake”. (The singular is apt because I only saw one swan!).

Swan Lake

Swan Lake

We continued to wend our way along the paths and found the “plants of the month”.  (You can click to enlarge, and then you can see the plant names clearly).

Plants of the month

Plants of the month

The sun was shining so brightly that when I took this next photo I didn’t realise there was a boy jumping on the tree.

Boy in a ficus tree

Boy in a ficus tree

These flowers look like something out of a Dr. Seuss illustration:

Cat in the Hat flowers

Cat in the Hat flowers

We then proceeded to the less colourful but more interesting plants. These were to be found in the Biblical plants section.

Oy vey! Chametz!

Wheat

Domestic wheat. Chametz!!!

And more chametz! Gevalt!

Cultivated barley

Cultivated barley. More chametz!

Mandrakes - dudaim

Dudaim - Mandrakes, as mentioned in Bereshit (Genesis)

The Mandrake

The Mandrake

For heart problems…

Digitalis Purpurae

Digitalis Purpurae

Hyssop

The lowly Hyssop - אזוב - mentioned in the Bible

Irises

Beautiful purple Irises

Day of the Trifids-type flowers in the hothouse:

Day of the Trifids

Huge hothouse flowers

The last flowers we saw on our walk were calendula – or “cat’s claws” as they are called in Hebrew. I wish my own cat’s claws were so pretty!

Calendula

Calendula - or cat's claws

And it was all finished off by a paddle in a little brook and a wander around the maze.

Paddling in the brook

I hope you enjoyed my little virtual tour of the Botanical Gardens. Go and visit for yourselves. You’ll enjoy it!

This entry was posted in Family, Slice of Israeli life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pesach flowers in Jerusalem

  1. Linda says:

    Lovely. Nice to have “good news” once in a while. Chag Sameach!

  2. annediamond1 says:

    I have been when I did a tour of in Israel, I note there are a lot of blue flowers it must be what is popular this time of the year in Israel.

    • anneinpt says:

      I think it depends on the season and what is flowering at that moment. The gardens were actually a riot of colour but I couldn’t post all 125 photos that I took!

  3. reality says:

    now that I’m back online I can comment! Its so nice to read about nice things for a change! What a beautiful place. We go every few weeks to Jlem & I’ve never been there! This is a must see. There is also one in tel Aviv which I’ve been to & is also a really good place to go to.

Add your comment here

