Friday videos for Shabbat

I’m neither in the mood nor do I have time for a Good News Friday post, but I didn’t want to leave up those last two terribly depressing posts without a counterweight, so here are two videos that might put you in a better mood.

The first is the tefila Mi Sheberach for the soldiers – the prayer for the welfare of soldiers recited in synagogues every Shabbat. I can’t think of a more appropriate prayer at this moment:

The second song is one that has been making the rounds recently and it has stuck in my head – השבעתי אתכם בנות ירושלים. The words are taken from Shir Hashirim

שיר השירים ה8: “הִשְׁבַּעְתִּי אֶתְכֶם, בְּנוֹת יְרוּשָׁלִָם! אִם תִּמְצְאוּ אֶת דּוֹדִי – מַה תַּגִּידוּ לוֹ? שֶׁחוֹלַת אַהֲבָה אָנִי!

“I have sworn you, daughters of Jerusalem, that if you find my beloved, what will you tell him? That I am lovesick for him”.

These are words of love between Israel and G-d, or between Israel and the Torah.

Enjoy!

Wishing us all a Shabbat Shalom and a better week ahead.

 

This entry was posted in Israel news and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Friday videos for Shabbat

  1. Reality says:

    perfect.A balm for my soul.Thank you.Shabbat Shalom and a quieter happier peaceful week.

  2. Shabbat Shalom to you too Anne and I’m so glad I found your blog.

  3. Brian Goldfarb says:

    Anne, you know, of course, because you are an ex-Brit, that this verse is recited in British synagogues as well, immediately after the prayer for the Royal Family every Shabbat. What you won’t know is that our Rabbi has added, at the present time, Psalm 121 after that. For those not in the loop, this is the one that starts (in English) “I will lift up mine eyes to he hill: from whence cometh my help?”

    If nothing else, he has demonstrated beyond doubt his Zionist credentials to our community, which not every UK United Synagogue (or any other denomination) Rabbi has. Just as well in our area: liberal (in the best sense of that word), highly educated Jews, devoted to the welfare of Israel.

    Am Yisroel chai!

    • anneinpt says:

      Brian, that is really heart-warming news. We’ve been adding that Psalm to our prayers since the teenagers were kidnapped. It really illustrates so clearly the unity between Israel and the Diaspora. That’s one of the very good things to have come out of this crisis – the way the two communities have united in their troubles and in their common fight, and how each is helping the other to overcome their distress.

Comments are closed.