A Jew goes for a walk in Bradford, a Christian goes for a walk in Jerusalem

Jonathan Kalmus dons a kipa in Bradford, which George Galloway declared an “Israel-free zone”

We’ve all seen the disturbing videos of what happens when a Jew, or a person dressed as a Jew, wearing a kipa and other religious clothing, walks the streets of European cities. The antisemitism and outright hatred expressed by passers-by with absolutely no provocation are shocking and frightening.

But surely civilized Britain would be different? Not so says the Daily Mail’s Jonathan Kalmus, (h/t Israellycool) who tried the same experiment in Manchester and Bradford.

‘You Jew’ was the anti-Semitic scream which came from a passing car. My shaken wife tried to explain it away to my seven-year-old daughter as a very large sneeze. They were simply playing in a local park in Manchester a few weeks ago when the incident ripped through what should have been a peaceful and wholesome time for any mother and child.

‘Fight the Jewish scum’ and ‘Jew, Jew, Jew… Run’, were the more vicious threats hurled at me in the past few days, however, when I decided to secretly film and find out whether ‘Jew-hatred’ really is alive and kicking on British streets.

Antisemitic slurs were thrown at Kalmus within minutes

I took the inspiration from the viral videos of Israeli journalist Zvika Klein, who filmed himself being threatened on the streets of Paris, and Muslim Hamdy Mahisen, who filmed himself getting abuse in Milan.

Zvika walked in Paris for 10 hours, Hamdy in Milan for five. It took me just one minute. One minute of walking one single, busy major street in Manchester before abuse was flung at me.

In 25 minutes on that one single street in Longsight, I was spat at by one man and called ‘a Jew’ multiple times by passers by, even by a young boy walking with his father.

I was just walking in the street testing the effect of being clearly identifiable as a Jew by wearing a small traditional Jewish head covering called a kippah.

In Bradford the situation was more shameful. It took 13 minutes, during which I was stalked by a man who repeatedly took pictures of me. He followed me on foot for five minutes and thirty seconds according to my footage.

There was a shout of ‘you Jew’ at me as I crossed the road to Bradford City Park. Minutes later a man turned his head and yelled ‘fight the Jewish scum’ just behind my back.

Some time later three youths shouted at me across a street repeatedly, ‘You’re a Jew, not a Muslim…Jew, Jew, Jew run!’

I was prepared to walk for hours and expected to get nothing on camera. On Manchester’s curry mile, a haven of mixed cultures and skin colour, it took two-and-half-minutes for a young lad on a bike to ride up to me and shout, ‘You’re a Jew’ in my face. I was left speechless that anti-Semitism is so obvious.

In total, between the two cities I suffered a series of anti-Semitic hate incidents, more than those in Zvika Klein’s video and achieved in one-tenth of the time here in Britain. What a horrible reality.

Why did I pick Bradford? For a simple reason. Last summer during the height of another Gaza conflict between Israel and Palestinians, 5,000 people, predominantly young Muslim men, gathered for a mass rally in Bradford City Park. The city’s MP, George Galloway, spoke while flanked by two butch men wearing T-shirts emblazoned ‘Palestine’s army you are not alone’.

Mr Galloway has repeated on many, many occasions that his message and political struggle is with Israel and Israelis, not Jews. Despite that, statistics show that bringing the Middle East’s struggles onto the streets of Britain has a direct effect on how people treat Jews.

It is worthwhile noting that George Galloway is notorious for making outrageous anti-Israel remarks which are in essence antisemitic. He then claims in pseudo-innocence that he’s not antisemitic, but “only” anti-Israel. Should you dare call him out on his antisemitism he threatens to sue anybody who calls him such, demanding payment of thousands of pounds in “compensation” – or what I would call a protection racket.  Thankfully some of his victims are hitting back and reporting this suspect behaviour of his lawyers to the Solicitors’ regulatory board.

Back to Jonathan Kalmus’s report:

No one could accuse me of targeting Muslim neighbourhoods to provoke a reaction. This was the centre of an ordinary English city and I was minding my own business.

No one could accuse me of wearing something provocative or political. A Jewish person or any peaceful person walking in a British street anywhere, let alone a city centre, should be welcome.

In that vein, there was one incident while I stopped in Bradford City Park’s branch of Starbucks. As soon as I walked in a Muslim man, sporting traditional Islamic dress and a heavy black beard raised his eyes from his drink, looked at me with wide eyes, stood up, raised his hand and said ‘Shalom, Shalom’, the traditional Hebrew greeting which means peace.

The harsh and grim outdoors overcast by storm clouds and drizzle lifted. Whatever was the reason for this man’s gesture and insistence that I shake his hand, it was warm and hopeful.

Go and read the entire thing and watch the sickening video at the site.

Interestingly, some other journalists walked the streets of Copenhagen, Rome, Berlin and Stockholm while wearing a kipa and encountered mostly friendliness or curiosity, despite the occasional epithet thrown at them.

Meanwhile, in that terrible, awful, no-good, very bad country called Israel, a Christian decided to go for a walk in Jerusalem while wearing a large cross, and encountered…. drum-roll… gasp…

Nothing.

 Just keep that in mind next time Israel is accused of being apartheid or racist.

When will the Jews of Europe be able to feel as free to walk about in the open, identifiably dressed as Jews, as an identifiable Christian wearing a cross in Israel? Not to mention either Christians or Jews being able to walk freely and safely in almost any Muslim country.

This entry was posted in Antisemitism and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Jew goes for a walk in Bradford, a Christian goes for a walk in Jerusalem

  1. lewy14 says:

    I spent some time recently in the comments section of the Financial Times, engaging in a few “frank exchanges of views” on Bibi’s speech in the US.

    Spitting, mindless ragebots who can’t wait to see Iran armed with nuclear weapons. So sad.

    • anneinpt says:

      You’re a braver person than me Lewy. I do visit the comments section of the Guardian or Independent occasionally but once the drooling antisemitism and conspiracy theories (the Joos dun it) seem to dominate, I give up. I can’t see any point in arguing with them. They just come back for another opportunity at Jew-bashing, and to be honest, life’s too short.

      I don’t think they’ve even thougtht their arguments through. They just know that “Israel is bad”, and therefore whoever is opposed to it must be good. Ergo, Iran should get the bomb. They haven’t a clue about Israeli or Jewish history, Middle Eastern history or even about current Middle East politics. The main thing is that Israel should be taken down a peg or two.

      Let them sink under the weight of their own lunacy. We’ll be the ones laughing loudest and longest at the end.

  2. Pete says:

    Anne – very good post today.
    Your point is very well made.

    thank you,
    Pete, USA

  3. Reality says:

    Have these videos been shown on BBC ?if not why not?

    • anneinpt says:

      I doubt they’ve been shown on the Beeb, but you can be sure that if they are, the BBC would be shocked! shocked I tellz ya!” that such antisemitism can exist in their society, and “where does it spring from?, Could it be the Jews’ fault? Or Israel’s, just for existing?”. Or something along those lines. Without the slightest acknowledgement of course that this hatred is aided and abetted, if not inspired, by the constant flood (it’s not a drip-drip any more) of anti-Israel articles to the exclusion of every other ill in the Middle East.

      • xivv says:

        My only Jewish friend here experiences antisemitism every other day in Birmingham. And yeah, these videos have been mentioned exactly 0 times by the B.B.C., sadly. My optimistic side is telling me that it’s because they don’t want to stir up more trouble, give credence to the antisemitism, or maybe they don’t want to alarm the Jews who have somehow managed to avoid ten months of rising hatred. . . . My optimistic side doesn’t make a very good point.

        • anneinpt says:

          Thank you for your personal insight xivv. I agree that your optimistic side is struggling here. I wish it weren’t. I’m of the opinion that the BBC, along with its soul-sister the Guardian, are amongst the main instigators of antisemitism, although they would loudly deny such an accusation and claim they are “only” anti-Israel, or anti-Zionist, whatever that means nowadays.

          Welcome to my blog. I hope we see you around here some more.

          • xivv says:

            They’re definitely making it worse. And they’re both respected and wellspoken, so it’s easy for them to use the term anti-Zionist and know that their readers will take it to mean anti-Jew, but then be able to deny antisemitism. Thank you, I think you will :-).

  4. Pete says:

    Anne … a completely separate topic.
    It looks like the Republicans in the US Congress have taken action.
    I don’t know how much of this was a direct result of the speech of PM Netanyahu.
    But surely he must have had some inkling of what was developing.

    The Republicans have written a direct letter to Iran advising Tehran that any agreement that is signed now – without the authorization of Congress – might not survive beyond the term of Pres. Obama. This action was a surprise to me personally. It is not common for Congress to circumvent the President’s foreign policy in such a direct way. It is certainly likely to make the President and Kerry very angry. I couldn’t begin to guess how the Iranians will see it.

    As always, we can only watch and see.

    Pete, USA

    • anneinpt says:

      Yes, I saw something about this. I’m not surprised that Congress did this since they are so obviously against the deal, but I was taken aback that such a veto of the veto is possible at all.

      I don’t think the Iranians give a hoot though. They’re just going to walk away from any deal offered and go their own merry way while the West does nothing but wring its hands.

  5. Pete says:

    Anne … I did tell you. Forget the long term. Bibi’s problems are now immediate.

    I have no idea if this article is close to being correct. But this is the slant on the news that is running in the western media. Take it for what it’s worth …

    http://www.salon.com/2015/03/10/bibi_in_big_trouble_new_poll_shows_israeli_pm_in_danger_of_losing_bid_for_fourth_term/

    Pete, USA

    • anneinpt says:

      I’m going to be writing about the elections in the next day or two, maybe more than once. I’ve been avoiding the subject because I feel so sick about it all.

      I don’t know if Bibi is going to lose. I hope to G-d he doesn’t because the left will be disastrous. Bibi doesn’t do well under pressure, at least domestically. It’s a wonder he has survived this long in the Israeli pressure cooker. But the pressure is being “helped” – or even created – by foreign interference emanating from Obama’s supporters amongst others. It is quite blatant and quite illegal, yet the establishment is doing nothing about it.

      If Israel is destroyed I hope the Western liberals will finally be happy. I hope they have prepared enough homes to house 6 million Jewish refugees.

Comments are closed.