Shabbat Shalom

Shabbat Shalom

No time for a Good News Friday post today. It’s been a bit of a crazy week for me, having hosted my annual “kaytanat savta” (Camp Grandma) for my daughter’s children. I had intended to have the (5 out of 6) children in 2 groups – 2 pre-teens and 3 younger ones, but circumstances intervened.

Firstly, since we had been busy with my father-in-law in hospital for nearly 2 weeks, and the new school year rapidly approaching next week, time was short to hold two kaytanot. Secondly, the 2 older girls had very busy social schedules (veritable social butterflies they are!) so the intention was that would come to us for a Shabbat during the year instead of kaytana as “compensation”. However when I turned up to take the little ones, the two pre-teens preferred Grandma to Bnei Akiva. I was a little bit taken aback, but as a good friend said, “you should be chuffed that they prefer you to their friends”. Of course she’s right. But having 5 kids in my charge on my own (hubby was abroad on business) was a little bit tiring (understatement of the century here…).

After a night in which no one went to sleep much before midnight (and the older ones having swiped our iPads and hidden them under their pillows), followed by everyone up by 6 a.m.Smiley With Huge Eyes Smiley Face, Emoticon  I took them to visit their great-grandparents, then the Gymboree, to a movie, and lunch at the mall, followed by the swimming pool, after which I was wiped out (as I’m sure you find hard to imagine Winking Eyes Smiley Smiley Face, Emoticon  ). The children on the other hand were still raring to go when their parents turned up 24 hours later!.. 😀

I had already hosted my son’s children a few weeks ago, but yesterday there was more  excitement with  the birthday party for my 7 year-old granddaughter (our son’s eldest). I counted 19 children there – and they were only family!

A good time was had by all and my daughter-in-law outdid herself with a fabulous birthday cake!

I wish all of you as much nachat from your children and grandchildren as we get from ours.

Shabbat Shalom

The army rests too on Shabbat

And now I wish you all Shabbat Shalom.

This entry was posted in Family, Slice of Israeli life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shabbat Shalom

  1. Reality says:

    Phew! You must be exhausted!Hope you had a good rest. Wishing everyone a good week and success in the new school year.
    Shavua tov

  2. Brian Goldfarb says:

    Wow! and I thought we had it bad…2 grandsons for a week. Collect then from the Essex (UK) town they live in (a mere 45 minutes away from where we live), drive to Framlingham Castle (a real medieval British castle) to run around and have lunch. Then off to Norfolk to keep them happy or a week and give their parents time to be proper grown-ups for a week.

    We’ve just got back and are shattered…with no real excuse.

    Well done, Anne, an example to all us grandparents.

    • anneinpt says:

      A week?! And you think I done good? I cheated and crammed it all into one day. It did take me 2 days to recover though. ☺️

      I also had a 45 minute drive to fetch them, only a) it turned into an hour’s drive due to a traffic jam because of an accident and b) I had to drive into the Wild and Woolly West Bank aka the Shomron rather than nice safe Essex and c) the way home also involved a traffic jam.

      Oh well, at least the kids’ singing in the back seats kept me entertained. 😀

Comments are closed.