Good News Friday

In keeping with the Rosh Hashana spirit, this week’s Good News Friday is going to focus on inspiring and uplifting posts.

Here’s a fantastic video of a huge slichot (penitential prayers) service at the Kotel this week. The sheer number of people turned these slichot into a highly emotional event:

How I wish I could have been there.

 

Next we have the most incredible, heart-warming, inspiring and surreal story I’ve heard in a long time. I received it by email and whatssapp from friends.

I challenge you not to have a dry eye at the end!

This next video is from the prayer service of Rosh Hashana and Yom Kippur, when the cantor beseeches G-d to listen to his voice, and to grant him the sweetness of voice and the words to represent the congregation to G-d. It’s one of my favourite prayers of the High Holydays, and this version is particularly beautiful, sung by two of Israel’s most popular religious singers, Yitzchak Meir and Udi Davidi.

And to close this week’s installment on a slightly lighter note… (NOT to be tried at home! 😀 )

And here’s a cheeky goodbye, taking into account the dreadful weather and sandstorm we’re struggling through:

Shabbat Shalom everyone! (I hope to have a Rosh Hashana post up on Sunday).

This entry was posted in Israel news, Judaism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Good News Friday

  1. DP-PT says:

    Great clips, Anne! Shana Tova to you and all your commentators. And thanks for all the good work over the year that has kept us alternately entertained, vexed and uplifted.

  2. JudyPt says:

    Agree with DPPT great clips esp. The Slichot one.Have a good chag and healthy New Year to all the family.

  3. Reality says:

    Thank you for these clips.I am going into Shabbat and Rosh Hashana with a more uplifted feeling especially after all the frustrating news emanating from the US and Europe.May Hashem give them what they deserve and grant all Jews worldwide a safe healthy successful year.May He send Mashiach this year and rebuild the 3rd temple

  4. Fay says:

    Shana Tova Anne. What a beautiful post, thank you. On our trip to Israel this year I was very emotional when we first saw the land of Israel from the plane. As you know we spent our first two days in Tel Aviv (where we finally got to meet you!) However my real emotional connection with Israel didn’t happen until we went to the Kotel. I was overcome at being there. It was somber and joyful (a joyous Bar Mitzvah happening at the same time hundreds of faithful were praying at the wall). The video of the service at the Kotel is amazing.

    I didn’t have time to dry my eyes between watching that video and then watching The Waiter and The Prayer. You now owe me a box of tissues 🙂

    G-d Bless Israel.

    • anneinpt says:

      Fay, thank you for your lovely comment. I’m so glad you finally came here to see the land with your own eyes. There really is no substitute. And I’m so happy that you enjoyed it all (despite your accident in Tel Aviv!).

      I’ll repay you that box of tissues on your next trip here. 🙂

      Shana tova to you and all your extended family.

Comments are closed.