The ugly side of BDS – and the even uglier ugly side

Words fail me. Whenever you think the Israel-haters and those who would boycott us and want to destroy us, including the BDS movement and its fellow-travellers, could not sink any lower, they start to dig.

The following Facebook post (referenced in the above Times of Israel article), posted by Shamir Rabinovitch, the father of the 13-year old girl who is the subject of this article, speaks for itself.

Here is the translation of Shamir’s introductory words in Hebrew:

The BDS movement is here. Shachar reached out to a lecture (Jewish!) in Cambridge regarding horses, and she received an answer that despite the fact that she is so young she needs to understand that the lecturer does not help Israelis as long as there is an occupation and all that well-known bla bla bla of those self-righteous people (just say already that you want us to die and it would be more elegant). This is the reaction of this trickster, which incredibly was sent to a 13 year old girl, who has not yet manage to kill anyone and davka quite supports world peace and brotherhood.

The following tweet by David Collier preserves the Facebook post in a screenshot in case it is ever removed:

The story has gone viral all over the Jewish and Israeli media. Here are some Facebook reactions:

An enterprising reader wrote to Cambridge to complain:

letter no Haya

 

The reader got a quick reply! Denial and distancing is the name of the game. Good!

reply

But the story gets worse!! As I said earlier, just when you think BDS can’t get any worse, they dig themselves in further.

The Jewish Chronicle contacted Marsha Levine for a reaction to the uproar she has instigated – and she justified her revolting answer to Shachar by saying the Israelis are the new Nazis!: (h/t Marcus Dysch):

Contacted by the JC on Tuesday, the American former academic defended her response.

She said: “I didn’t ask her to email me. I don’t know how she got my email address. I can do whatever I want. I didn’t invite her to email me. If she wanted to read anything I had written she could find it on the internet.

“I made the decision that I have the choice not to waste my time on people who tread on the rights of other people. I didn’t do anything to her. I said that when there is justice for Palestine I will answer her – that’s a fair answer. I’m a signatory to Jews for Justice for Palestinians and I sent her a link. I did it as a matter of conscience. The way Israel treats Palestinians is totally disgusting.”

Dr Levine said she wanted Miss Rabinovitch to stand up to violence when she grows up.

“The violence against Palestinians never stops”, the Cambridge-based former academic said. “The people who live in Gaza cannot get education, health, water. What does it say about Jews that they support that? Jews have turned themselves into monsters.

“I want this girl not to worry about horses. I don’t need people emailing me. I’m not an academic anymore. My research was all in the past. I’m doing other things now. I don’t see any obligation to further her ego or make her feel better about herself. I don’t think it’s about her – I think it’s about her parents.

“I gave her useful information which might help her for the rest of her life. I have to stand up for what I believe in.

“Benjamin Netanyahu wants ethnic cleansing. The Jews have become the Nazis. Jews are behaving just like the people who treated them. It’s not all Israelis or all Jews.

Our old sages had a saying: השנאה מקלקלת את השורה- which roughly translated means “hatred destroys clear thinking”. Never has an aphorism been truer or more apposite than in this case. This woman should be ejected and rejected from all free-thinking and freedom-loving society.

This entry was posted in Academia, Antisemitism, Boycotts and BDS and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The ugly side of BDS – and the even uglier ugly side

  1. ShimonZ says:

    Some of our worst problems seem to come out of our fellow Jews, And poor Ms Levine seems consumed by self hatred, or hatred for her own people. Let’s wish her health and happiness.

    • anneinpt says:

      Indeed it was Isaiah who said “your wreckers and destroyers will come out from within you”.

      מהרסייך ומחריבייך ממך ייצאו

      Nothing has changed in 3000 years.

      I’m not sure what I wish Ms Levine. I think I’ll keep my thoughts to myself.

  2. Aridog says:

    I suggest Ms Levine move to Syria, in the ISIS zones, or better yet, Saudi Arabia, and see how tolerant those people are of her beliefs. See who she can “lecture” on the subject? She won’t get past being Jewish, no matter how hard she tries to be their buddy. In some of the ME you cannot even have a Bible that anyone can see, be you Christian or Jew. I turned down a very lucrative job in the ME around 1990 because it required I live in Saudi Arabia, in a closed compound of course. Live like a prisoner while working for the US? No Thank you. Glad I did because it would have involved chasing tanks across the desert for Desert Storm….the job was to prep tanks & crews in Desert Shield. People like Ms Levine ( I refuse to honor her titles) do just fine with their obsessions so long as they are protected by others, in her case the British, who could care less about her beliefs. She doesn’t like being a Jew? Well La Ti Da…I’m not crazy about being a bunch Irish either, especially the “troubles” part, and neither of our thoughts are worth squat on the subject. Our difference is I try to find the good in the Irish, especially those who came here and let be born an American Citizen. Half in 1735 and the other half in 1890…God bless them. Ms Levine…you are a fraud. Period.

    PS: Ms Shachar Rabinovitch…I, too, am fascinated with horses and their history. If you read this, just ask and I will send you some photographs up close of truly wild horses on the Pryor Mountain reserve in Montana…they are among the few direct descendants of the Conquistadors that managed to get loose and become wild again and remained so by going to the mountains. They’re relatively small, but husky and fearless…and they still have the feather coat markings of ancient horses. I believe my email is in my Blogger resume which I think also links here.

    I, too, at your age, wondered about the lineage of the horses I rode from Hanovarians to Quarter Horses, and in between, both very different. Breeding for a type is part of it, no doubt, as well as temperament and fitness for a particular task. I still know far less than I know, so I wish you well in learning more than I did. My last three horses lived out their lives naturally in a pasture with little girls all around them…it was the least we could do for such grand companions, when spinal cord issues prevented me from riding again. I miss them to this very day.

    • anneinpt says:

      Aridog, you are so right about the blind bigotry and hatred of Ms Levine. I don’t think she even considers the idea of what would happen to her in Arab countries. My guess is she’s so closed up in her little bubble of hatred that she’s not paying attention to the wider world. Otherwise she would surely have considered the blowback from her vile response to young Shachar.

      You are very kind to offer to help Shachar in her quest for knowledge about horses. I will post a link to this on her father’s facebook page and naybe she will contact you after all. I’m sure your deep knowledge and huge love for horses will inspire her.

      It’s good to note too that the former director of the McDonald Institute in Cambridge has also offered to help her.

      • Aridog says:

        Shachar asks a question even very experienced horsemen are hard pressed to answer in detail, me included. I’m impressed her curiosity lead to ask it at all. We need more kids like her who ask questions forthrightly and listen.

    • Shamir says:

      This is Shachar’s father. Thank you so much for your warm words. I had the fortune to travel and meet people from all the world. I think that most of us try to be nice and friendly to each other and that this what make our world such a good place. Like you said there are radicals and people that just don’t follow. But the good part is that we will never listen to them and we will try to see the human side in any person.
      BR, Shamir

      • anneinpt says:

        Thank you Shamir for your kind words, and once again, kol hakavod to you and your daughter for going public with the disgraceful discrimination that you received.

        You did a real public service by making the incident known. These bigoted people should be ashamed of themselves.

        I wish Shachar much success, הצלחה רבה, in the future.

  3. Brian Goldfarb says:

    So much for BDS being aimed at institutions and not individuals. Ms Levine has managed, in one fell swoop, to demonstrate the truth of the old academic joke between medics (always called “doctor”, while “only” having an M.B) and other post-grad types that PhD stands for “Phoney Doctor”.

    Nice one, Marsha! Do carry on digging…you might find gold down there, though it’s more likely to be fools gold, Remember Shakespeare: “all that glisters is not gold”.

    All this reminds of a great Anthony Julius (the man who led, pro bono, the defence of Deborah Lipstadt against the vile David Irving) quip at an engage meeting some 4 or 5 years ago: “these are not self-hating Jews. They love themselves…it’s their parents they hate.”

  4. Reality says:

    Such a disgusting woman! She obviously has no “memory” that 70 +years ago, these same self hating Jews were burned ,trampled and gassed to death just for being Jewish or having some sort of Jewish lineage.
    Re constantly blaming Israel for Gaza’s woes, Israel left Gaza 10 years ago! Why are we still being blamed for their plight? This is something that is never pushed enough in any forum.Its time the entire world realises this. The Egyptians too, have a border with Gaza and love them as much as the Israelis! We have to stop this none sense immediately.

    • anneinpt says:

      Oh, she has memory all right. She just thinks that if she crawls to the antisemites they will hate her a bit less. Like Churchill said, appeasing the crocodiles hoping to be eaten last.

      She also probably thinks that it’s Jews like us (Zionists) who bring all these calamities upon us and if we’d only be “good” Jews like her there would be peace in the world.

      Or she really is mentally ill. I can’t decide which one applies.

      As for blaming Israel, come on Reality! You know the world! Whatever we do it’s not enough for the likes of these people. If we withdraw from territory but control the border (like any sovereign country everywhere in the world) then we’re keeping them in “an open air prison”. If we provide food then it’s not enough or it’s tainted or it’s destroying the Palis’ economy or whatever. Because – Jews.

      Yes, Egypt gets away with what we cannot because we’re Jews. Geddit now?

  5. DP-PT says:

    I was pleased to note that this story got extensive coverage today in the UK online press. And the “talkbackers” in the Daily Mail were almost exclusively hostile to this horse’s a*se of a woman. How does one ensure that she is put on a blacklist for entry to Israel? She may be Jewish per her name, but I sure as hell don’t want to ever offer her refuge here!

    • anneinpt says:

      I think Israel does have a list of BDS-ers, and they are indeed on a blacklist of some sort. Anyway, the way she feels about us and the way she doesn’t want to be confused with facts, I can’t see her coming here any time soon. Let her go to Syria or Gaza.

  6. Pingback: Despite all the pressures, two huge #BDSFails | Anne's Opinions

Comments are closed.